Easson names Scotland squad for Japan test

Easson names Scotland squad for Japan test

Scotland Women Head Coach Bryan Easson has today named a 26-player squad for the upcoming Autumn Test against Japan at the DAM Health Stadium (Sunday 14 November, kick-off 4.10pm) – live on BBC ALBA.

Edinburgh University quartet Shona Campbell, Meryl Smith, Anne Young and Holly McIntyre could make their Scotland debuts this month, while Worcester Warriors second-row Lyndsay O’Donnell returns to the fold, having last played for Scotland during the 2017 Six Nations championship.

Easson said: “The upcoming Autumn Test against Japan is a great opportunity for us to learn from our experience in the Rugby World Cup 2021 Europe Qualifiers.

“Japan have recently qualified for the Rugby World Cup as the highest ranked team in the Asia qualification process so this will be an ideal test for us as it exposes us to a different opponent and playing style ahead of our final qualification tournament next year.

"The players are also excited to run out in front of a home crowd for the first time since 2019, especially as they've played mostly behind closed doors for the past 18 months. We've all hugely missed having crowds so it'll be fantastic to have supporters along at the DAM Health Stadium to cheer the players on."

Scotland’s last encounter against the Brave Blossoms was in November 2019, which was also the last match they played in front of a home crowd, with Japan taking the spoils that day with a 20-24 win.

Easson’s squad recently kept their World Cup ambitions in sight following two back-to-back wins against Spain and Ireland during the Rugby World Cup 2021 Europe Qualifiers in Parma.

The side’s recent success has also seen them rise to an all-time high of ninth in the Women’s World Rugby rankings.

Tickets for Scotland Women v Japan Women are on sale now HERE. Kids for £1 tickets are available with a paying adult, at £12, and U18s go for £5.

Scotland Women squad for the 2021 Autumn Test against Japan


Leah Bartlett (Loughborough Lightning) – 10 caps

Christine Belisle (Loughborough Lightning) – 10 caps

Sarah Bonar (Harlequins) – 24 caps

Lisa Cockburn (Darlington Mowden Park) – 21 caps

Evie Gallagher (Stirling County) – 6 caps

Jade Konkel (Harlequins) – 47 caps

Rachel Malcolm (Loughborough Lightning) – 22 caps

Rachel McLachlan (Sale Sharks) – 22 caps

Louise McMillan (Hillhead Jordanhill) – 29 caps

Lyndsay O’Donnell (Worcester Warriors) – 15 caps

Lana Skeldon (Worcester Warriors) – 46 caps

Emma Wassell (Loughborough Lightning) – 50 caps

Molly Wright (Watsonians) – 8 caps

Anne Young (Edinburgh University) – uncapped


Shona Campbell (Edinburgh University) – uncapped

Megan Gaffney (Loughborough Lightning) – 37 caps

Sarah Law (Sale Sharks) – 46 caps

Rhona Lloyd (Les Lionnes du Stade Bordelais) – 31 caps

Jenny Maxwell (Loughborough Lightning) – 35 caps

Holly McIntyre (Edinburgh University) – uncapped

Helen Nelson (Loughborough Lightning) – 35 caps

Chloe Rollie (Exeter Chiefs) – 43 caps

Hannah Smith (Watsonians) – 29 caps

Meryl Smith (Edinburgh University) - uncapped

Lisa Thomson (Sale Sharks) – 38 caps

Evie Wills (Hillhead Jordanhill) – 1 cap

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners

Peter Vardy logo