Easson names team for Italy Test

Easson names team for Italy Test

Head Coach Bryan Easson has made four personnel changes to the starting Scotland side to face Italy in this Saturday’s Women’s Six Nations match at Scotstoun Stadium (17 April, kick-off 5pm BST) – live on BBC iPlayer.

Evie Gallagher, who received her first cap during Scotland’s opening game against England, will make her first start this weekend at blindside flanker as Rachel Malcolm is ruled out for remainder the tournament after sustaining a knee injury against England.

Tighthead prop Megan Kennedy returns to the fold after missing the opening Women's Six Nations match due to injury.

Sarah Law is set for her first involvement in the 2021 Women’s Six Nations tournament as starting fly-half, while Liz Musgrove moves to the wing from the bench.

The final change to the back division is a positional switch for Helen Nelson, who starts at inside centre in place of Hannah Smith who is currently with the GB Sevens camp. Nelson will also take on the captaincy duties in Malcolm's absence, with Lisa Thomson supporting her as vice-captain.

Evie Wills and Coreen Grant could potentially make their Scotland debuts this weekend if called upon from the bench.

Easson said: “We will be looking to build on the positive aspects of our performance against England, particularly our set-piece and resilience on the pitch.

“I was really impressed with our ability to put England under pressure in that second-half, but we will now be looking for the players to bring that form for the full 80 minutes against Italy and turn the pressure into points.”

Scotland Women team to face Italy on Saturday at Scotstoun Stadium (17 April, kick-off 5pm – live on BBC iPlayer)

15. Chloe Rollie (Harlequins)

14. Liz Musgrove (Unattached)

13. Lisa Thomson VICE-CAPTAIN (Unattached)

12. Helen Nelson CAPTAIN (Loughborough Lightning)

11. Megan Gaffney (Heriots)

10. Sarah Law (Unattached)

9. Mairi McDonald (Hillhead Jordanhill)

1. Leah Bartlett (Loughborough Lightning)

2. Lana Skeldon (Unattached)

3. Megan Kennedy (Stirling County)

4. Emma Wassell (Corstorphine Cougars)

5. Louise McMillan (Hillhead Jordanhill)

6. Evie Gallagher (Stirling County)

7. Rachel McLachlan (Unattached)

8. Siobhan Cattigan (Stirling County)


16. Jodie Rettie (Saracens)

17. Lisa Cockburn (Darlington Mowden Park)

18. Panashe Muzambe (Edinburgh University / Watsonians)

19. Christine Belisle (Cartha Queens Park)

20. Nicola Howat (Sale Sharks)

21. Jenny Maxwell (Loughborough Lightning)

22. Evie Wills (Stirling County)

23. Coreen Grant (Saracens)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners

Peter Vardy logo