East secure age-grade double in Aberdeen

East secure age-grade double in Aberdeen

Scotland’s East U16 and U18 sides overcame their West counterparts at Kings Park in Aberdeen, in the opening encounter of the age-grade fixtures last Sunday (15 October).

In the keenly contested U16 match, East edged out West courtesy of tries by Angus Hoffie, Ryan Daly, Tom Banatvala and Hector Skipworth (converted twice by Christian Townsend), with Hoffie dotting down on the line twice.

Despite a 19-point deficit at half-time, the defiant West U16 side put on a gritty display in the second half - with tries from Thomas McGuire, Tomoki Hayashi, Ruarirdh Airlie and Angus Fraser (converted once by Luke Armstrong) - but the plucky side were unable catch their opponents.

In the final match of the day, East U18 triumphed as they secured seven tries through Callum Hoffie, Robbie McCallum, Connor Boyle, Rory Darge and Struan Whittaker, with Hoffie and McCallum both darting over the line twice.

West responded with two tries of their own, with full-back Ollie Smith and replacement Scott Clelland both crossing the line (converted once by Angus Vipond).

The next round of fixtures, which lead to international age-grade selection for the 2017/18 season, will see the East and West age-grade select sides go head-to-head again on Sunday 22 October at Inverleith in Edinburgh.

BT Sport Academy Fixtures

Wednesday 18 October (U19)

Edinburgh v Caledonia (kick-off 11am)
Glasgow & the West v Borders & East Lothian (kick-off 11.50am)
Edinburgh v Glasgow & the West (kick-off 1.30pm)
Caledonia v Borders & East Lothian (kick-off 2.20pm)
Borders & East Lothian v Edinburgh (kick-off 4pm)
Glasgow & the West v Caledonia (kick-off 4.50pm)

Sunday 22 October at Inverleith, Edinburgh

East U16 v West U16 (kick-off 12.30pm)
East U18 v West U18 (kick-off 2.15pm)

Sunday 26 November at Oriam, Edinburgh

East U20 v West U20 (kick-off 5pm)

West U16 (22-29) East U16

West U16: 15. Toby Adamson CAPTAIN (Glenalmond College); 14. Peter Keenan (Bishopbriggs HS/ Allan Glens RFC), 13. Michael Gray (Stirling County / Dollar Academy), 12. Cameron Paterson (Strathallan School / Marr RFC), 11. Ross McKnight (Stirling County / Dollar Academy); 10. Euan Cunningham (Stirling County / Wallace HS), 9. Oscar del Priore (Hermatage Academy / Cartha Queens Park); 1. Owen Brown (Dunfermline RFC / HS), 2. Thomas McGuire (St Aloysius), 3. George Ratcliff (Strathallan School), 4. Charles Wall (Highland RFC / Forres Academy), 5. John Paterson (High School of Glasgow / Glasgow Hawks) , 6. Tomoki Hayashi (Stirling County / Wallace HS), 7. Dougal Sands (Dollar Academy), 8. Ruairidh Airlie (Auchinleck Academy / Cumnock RFC). Substitutes: 16. Finlay Overend, 17. Jack Bousie, 18. Callum Hunter, 19. Tim Brown, 20. Eion Cameron, 21. Ethan Morgan, 22. Angus Fraser, 23. Luke Armstrong.

East U16: 15. Rory Stephen (George Watson’s College); 14. Angus Hoffie (George Watson’s College), 13. Patrick Harrison (Peebles HS / RFC), 12. Angus Cousin (George Watson’s College), 11. Ryan Daly (George Watson’s College); 10. Christian Townsend (Earlston HS / Melrose), 9. Cameron Scott CAPTAIN (Preston Lodge HS / RFC); 1. Tom Banatvala (Fettes College), 2. Fraser McAslan (Royal High School / Currie), 3. Kaysan Davidson (Stewart’s Melville College), 4. Blair Watson (Royal High School), 5. Callum Anderson (George Heriot’s), 6. Luke Hutchinson (George Watson’s College), 7. Hector Skipworth (Merchiston Castle School), 8. Rhys Tait (Hawick HS / RFC). Substitutes: 16. Josef Di-Domenico (Trinity Academy), 17. Archie Bogle (Eyemouth HS / Duns RFC), 18. Moray Haldane (Selkirk HS), 19. David Murphy Clark (Hawick HS / RFC), 20. Rowan Armitage (Dunbar Grammar School / RFC), 21. Ben Grainger (Royal High School), 22. Rory Brett (Earlston HS / Melrose RFC), 23. Kieran Clark (Earlston HS / Melrose RFC).

West U18 (12-41) East U18

West U18: 15. Ollie Smith (Strathallan School); 14. Murray Godsman (High School of Glasgow / Glasgow Hawks), 13. Matthew Stewart (Biggar RFC), 12. Angus Vipond (Stirling County / Strathallan School), 11. Jordan Miller (Dollar Academy); 10. Lachlan Kelly (Dollar Academy), 9. Josh Kelly (St Aloysius College); 1. Lachlan McKay (Stirling County RFC), 2. Cameron Bullard (Glenalmond College), 3. Christopher Lynas (St Aloysius College), 4. Cameron Henderson (Strathallan School), 5. Allan Ferrie (Newton Stewart RFC), 6. Gavin Wilson (Wallace Hall Academy / Dumfries RFC), 7. Yannick Sutcliffe (Strathallan School), 8. Callum Coats (High School of Glasgow / Glasgow Hawks). Substitutes: 16. Scott Clelland (Prestwick Academy / Ayr RFC), 17. Craig Miller (Ayr RFC), 18. Jamie Drummond (Cumnock RFC), 19. Alex Marsh (Perthshire RFC / Strathallan School), 20. Ross Milne (Dollar Academy), 21. George Hurst (Highland RFC), 22. Jacob Henry (Highland RFC), 23. Scott Briggs (Glasgow Academy).

East U18: 15. Rufus McLean (Merchiston Castle School); 14. Callum Hoffie (George Watson’s College), 13. Matthew Currie (Merchiston Castle School), 12. Robbie McCallum (Loretto School), 11. Nathan Brown (Stewart’s Melville College); 10. Paul Cunningham (George Watson’s College), 9. Roan Frostwick (North Berwick High School / RFC); 1. Thomas Jeffrey (Borders College / Peebles RFC), 2. Rory Jackson (Edinburgh Academy), 3. Dan Gamble (Merchiston Castle School / Kelso RFC), 4. Ben Marshall (George Watson’s College), 5. Kieran Watt (Watsonians RFC), 6. Connor Boyle (Stewart’s Melville College), 7. Rory Darge (Borders College / Melrose RFC), 8. Cammy Brown (Kelso RFC). Substitutes: 16. Kyle Scott (Preston Lodge HS), 17. Finlay Miller (Trinity Academy / BATs), 18. Mak Wilson (Duns RFC), 19. Struan Whittaker (BATs / Trinity Academy), 20. Gavin Inkster (Boroughmuir RFC), 21. Jamie Dobie (Merchiston Castle School), 22. Matthew Kindness (Borders College / Kelso RFC), 23. Mully Bannerman (Hawick RFC / HS).

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners