Forrest names Scotland Women 7s training squad

Forrest names Scotland Women 7s training squad

Scotland Women 7s Head Coach Scott Forrest today named his first training squad ahead of the Rugby Europe Grand Prix series event at Marcoussis, Paris on Friday 29 and Saturday 30 June.

Last year the sevens squad gained promotion to the series with an unbeaten season in the Rugby Europe Trophy in the Czech Republic and Hungary.

They will open their campaign in the first leg of the Grand Prix in France, where they face Ireland, Wales and Poland in Pool B.

Scotland Women 7s Head Coach, Scott Forrest, said: “There is a good mix of experience and fresh faces in the squad and we’re excited to prepare for the first event.

“Playing in the Grand Prix Series this year will be a challenge and a great test of the progress we have made over the past 12 months.

“Some of the squad have played Grand Prix rugby before, which will be invaluable for the whole squad as we prepare for Paris.”

The squad of 22 contains 10 Scotland Women players who played in this year’s Women’s Six Nations Championship side that won their first away game for six years when they beat Ireland in Dublin.

The second leg of the Grand Prix will take place in Kazan on Saturday 1 and Sunday 2 September.

Scotland Women 7s training squad

Claire Bain (Murrayfield Wanderers)

Emma Barlow (Hillhead/Jordanhill)

Siobhan Cattigan (Stirling County)

Hannah Chrisp (Murrayfield Wanderers)

Karen Dunbar (RHC Cougars)*

Abi Evans (Hillhead/Jordanhill)

Lauren Harris (Edinburgh University) *

Caitlin Harvey (RHC Cougars)

Nicola Howat (Edinburgh University) *

Gillian Inglis (RHC Cougars)

Lisa Martin (DMP Sharks) *

Jenny Maxwell (Loughborough Lightning)

Mairi McDonald (Hillhead/Jordanhill) *

Louise McMillan (Hillhead/Jordanhill) *

Liz Musgrove (Edinburgh University)

Bryony Nelson (Watsonians)

Helen Nelson (Murrayfield Wanderers) *

Lyndsay O’Donnell (Stirling County)

Jodie Rettie (Thurrock)

Chloe Rollie (Lille Metropole Rugby Club Villeneuvois)*

Eilidh Sinclair (Murrayfield Wanderers) *

Hannah Smith (Hillhead Jordanhill)

* BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy players 2017/18

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners