National Youth League Cup Finals Preview

Cup Finals

National Youth League Cup Finals Preview

This weekend Scottish Rugby will host the U16 and U18 National Youth League Cup Finals at BT Murrayfield.

The first of the two showpiece finals will take place on Sunday as Biggar take on Stirling County in the U16 Final (kick-off 1pm) before Ayr/Wellington play Boroughmuir in the U18 Final (kick-off 3pm).

In the U18 edition, Edinburgh side Boroughmuir turned in a convincing performance to secure their final berth against Stirling County 7-31 at Oriam back in January.

It is an occasion that Gavin Inkster, captain of Boroughmuir, is very much looking forward to.

Inkster said, “This is my first major final, so I’m really looking forward to the challenge. To play the game at BT Murrayfield is unreal, having never played on the international pitch before.

“Ayr are a very strong team who play their style of rugby very well, so to play against opposition like that will make the final an even better experience. I’m confident that the boys will give everything on the day and the hard work throughout the season will pay off on Sunday.

Their opponents Ayr/Wellington will be making their fourth consecutive appearance in the final after defeating Hawick at the semi-final stage with a 6-19 win. It was a valiant effort by the young Hawick contingent, but they were ultimately undone by the direct and physical firepower of the Millbrae side.

Ayr Head Coach Stuart Fenwick commented, “The boys are all really looking forward to the final on Sunday. They have prepared really well since winning the semi-final at Oriam.

“We are well aware of how good Boroughmuir have been this season and the size of the task at hand, but we are looking forward to giving them everything come Sunday, taking the hard work from the training sessions out on to the field.”

Biggar U16 captain, Jonathan Smith added, “Everything we do at Biggar RFC comes down the fact that we are One Club, One Family. I have great respect for everyone involved in the club and the squad, from the players to the coaches, to the volunteers, to the parents and the supporters.

“Having fun, enjoying playing rugby with my friends and lifting the cup would be something to treasure for a long time.”

Biggar were behind in the first half of their semi-final against Currie Chieftains, but wrestled their way back into the encounter during the second period, running in three scores to get themselves into the final with a tense 24-27 win.

Their opponents, Stirling County, made their way to BT Murrayfield with a win against Boroughmuir in their respective semi-final. (14-30)

Stirling U16 captain Aengus Lennox said, “The team is tremendously proud to be given the honour of playing at the national stadium. This is a culmination of all our hard work, determination, and the stellar coaching we’ve received at County throughout the season.

“It’ll be a proud moment for all, seeing the team out on the pitch. It’s already a privilege to be in the final at such a venue and raising the trophy would be the pinnacle of a fantastic season for the team.”

Cup Final Squads:

Ayr/Wellington U18: Ross Maiden; Jason McGuiness, Dylan Wilson, Murray Thomson, Chris Easton; Andy Morrison, Craig Doolan; Michael Lafferty, Ross Ward, Ben Cree, Euan Bulloch, Conrad Lynch, Cameron Young, Olly Mossie, Morgan Letherbarrow.

Substitutes: Scott Clelland, Conlan McLuckie, Stephan McLarty, Sam Kerr, Danial White, Jonathon Easton, Neil Monaghan.

Boroughmuir U18: John Dewar; Finlay Devine, Stuart Dobson, Ben Mackintosh, Jeke Canakaivata; Calum Anderson, Ethan McVicker; Daniel McDevitt, Grant Stevenson, Callum MacGregor, Derry McConnell, Lewis Thompson, Matthew Crawford, Gavin Inkster, Paul Bogie.

Substitutes: Cameron Ritchie, Charles Farmer, Murray Roy, Scott McDowall, Cameron Ledingham Adam Jacques, Cameron Hogg.

Biggar U16: Calum McCallum; Aaron Millar, Rhys Campbell, Murray Lean, Callum Smith; Euan Laing, Archie Damer; Louis Henderson, Cameron Gray, Ben Nichol, Fraser Simpson, Ben McLeish, Jamie Tucker, Samuel Taylor, Jonathan Smith.

Substitutes: Jack McAllister, Ryan Adair, Connor Lister, Kaleb Millar, Harvey Robertson, Callum Yardly Andrew Wright.

Stirling U16: Cameron Blance; Harry Wilson, Ben Yarrow, Liam McNicoll, Necani Racava; Callum Beckett, Scott Sherriff; Jake Galbraith, Jack Smith, Aengus Lennox, Andrew McCormack, Ruairidh Nelson, Dugald MacDonald, Cameron Lynn, Sam Clark.

Substitutes:Michael Comrie, Logan Niven, Fraser Roy, Isaac Smith, Jonny Hanson Alex Whitfield, Dan Hunter.

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners