Nominations open for Scottish Rugby 2020 Development Awards

Nominations open for Scottish Rugby 2020 Development Awards

​Scottish Rugby has launched the new revamped Awards structure for 2019/20 season, which will now be called ‘Scottish Rugby Development Awards’

The Scottish Rugby Development Awards celebrates and recognises the efforts of players, coaches, match officials and volunteers from the domestic game across all five regions of Scotland.

The Tennent’s Try of the Month Award continues as a national competition, with nominations and winners being decided each month in both the Men’s and Women’s leagues.

The SP Energy Networks Spirit of Rugby Award is awarded to someone who has made a major impact on the world of rugby during their lifetime. It takes into account the dedication to rugby they have shown throughout the years, irrespective of the level of the game to which they have been devoted.

SP Energy Networks Club Coaching System of the Year will be awarded at the national awards to the club that has shown dedication to develop coaches at all levels and created a positive player-centred coaching environment across the club.

These awards are now open to the public to vote on ahead of the national awards.

Changes from previous years will see volunteers and the impact of the clubs throughout the local community considered for regional and national honours.

The new format will focus on five awards, which will now be awarded in each of the five regions as part of the local awards. Regional winners will then be shortlisted and come together for the National Awards evening where 17 awards will be presented on the evening.

The various awards are:

The Tennent’s Community Rugby Club of the Season, which will be awarded to one club in each region who brings together stakeholders in the local community who want to grow and develop the sport of rugby, is focused on sustainable community-led approaches and is a club that creates an inclusive, welcoming, safe and fun environment.

There will be four different volunteer award categories which recognises the individuals whose work behind the scenes and contribute so much to their club.

Mitsubishi Motors will be sponsoring three of the awards this year and consist of the Mitsubishi Motors Volunteer of the Season in both Schools and Youth Rugby, as well as the Mitsubishi Motors Young Volunteer of the Season award.

The final volunteer award will be the Tennent’s Volunteer of the Season in Adult Rugby Award, which is open to anyone over the age of 18.

For each volunteer award, one award winner from each region will be selected and then shortlisted as finalists for the end of season Awards Night.

There will also be a series of Performance-related awards, which will be determined by a newly devised scoring matrix.

The nomination process is now open for applications until the end of January. The Regional winners will be announced in March.

All nominations received will be put forward to the Scottish Rugby Development Awards judging panel.

Simply complete the online form to recognise someone in your region or contact your Scottish Rugby Regional Development staff.

If you have any problems completing the online form please email [email protected] Regional winners will be contacted by Friday 28 February.

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners