One change to Scotland 7s squad for Sydney

One change to Scotland 7s squad for Sydney

Ally Miller has joined up with his Scotland 7s teammates for this weekend’s tournament in Sydney.

Scotland finished in fifth place in Hamilton and have been drawn in a Pool against Spain, Wales and New Zealand this coming weekend.

Glenn Bryce has returned home having picked up a pectoral strain in Hamilton. Alec Coombes took his place in the squad on day two in New Zealand and does the same from the start in Australia.

Miller joins as 13th man having flown straight from South Africa where he was playing for Edinburgh in the Guinness PRO14 last weekend.

Scotland 7s Head Coach John Dalziel said: “I was pleased with the maturity and composure shown last weekend when behind in big games to come back and finish well.

“We have shown over a number of tournaments and games that teams need to play well to beat us and we never roll over, we have shown great endeavour and composure to finish ties well and not panic when behind. These are good signs of this young team starting to mature and grow in confidence.

“We played some very good rugby at times and were disappointed to not get into the last 4. However, the standard across the World Series is extremely high and we need to keep challenging ourselves to make better decisions under pressure.

“The players have taken confidence from the last three tournaments, there is still more to come, and we take some key learnings into round 4 here in Sydney.

“To add to the already challenging environment we have soaring heat and humidity to cope with this week and we are looking to both recover and also add enough load so that we can adapt ahead of the weekend.”

Scotland 7s squad to compete at the fourth leg of the 2018/19 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series in Sydney, live on Sky Sports (World Series tournaments in brackets)

1. Scott Riddell (70)

2. Nyle Godsmark (21)

3. Kyle Steyn (5)

4. Robbie Fergusson (CC) (12)

5. Harvey Elms (10)

6. Alec Coombes (6)

7. Jamie Farndale (CC) (34)

8. Jo Nayacavou (39)

9. Sam Pecqueur (4)

10. Gavin Lowe (27)

11. Max McFarland (13)

12. Ross McCann (5)

13. Ally Miller (9)

Scotland 7s fixtures in Sydney

(1 – 3 February, kick-off times in GMT)

Friday 1 February

Scotland 7s v Spain 7s (10pm)

Saturday 2 February

Scotland 7s v Wales 7s (3.28am)

Scotland 7s v New Zealand 7s (7.55am)

Day two fixtures TBC

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners