Players announced for Scottish Rugby 2019/20 Futures Programme.

Players announced for Scottish Rugby 2019/20 Futures Programme.

Scottish Rugby has announced the players selected to be part of the Scottish Futures U18 and U20 programme for the upcoming season.

After a thorough selection process, the coaches have invited 33 players to be part of the U18 programme and 19 players for the U20 programme.

A reflection of the growth of the girls’ and women’s game sees players selected from all corners of Scotland including Caithness, Borders and Ayrshire. The players will gain access to 13 fortnightly training sessions and monthly performance camps throughout the year, delivered in venues across the country. These training opportunities will be supported through fixtures which will include training matches against other emerging talent programmes from the home unions.

Performance Pathway Manager for Girls’ & Women’s Rugby Robert Lavery said: “Selection was really tough this year for our Head Coaches Chris Reid (U20) and Rudi Urbach (U18) due to the large number of players who put themselves forward to be part of the programme.

“We have already seen success in this pathway programme with a couple of our players from last year being selected to go on tour to South Africa with the senior team. Sarah Denholm and Anne Young, who have both been included in the U20s programme this season, had a fantastic experience learning from Scotland Women Head Coach Philip Doyle and being part of the wider squad that beat South Africa twice earlier this month.

“There is no doubt that this will spur on this year’s intake of players even more as it really demonstrates the opportunities that the Future’s programme can provide and the success that can be achieved.”

As well as the selection for Scotland Women, 18 of the players from this year’s intake represented Scotland Women U18 7’s this summer in the Rugby Europe Girls U18 Championship and the U18 Home Nations Championships.

Scottish Futures – U18
Abbe Bruce (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Abbie Ledwidge (Stirling County RFC)
April McKenzie (Highland RFC)
Carla Mcdonald (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Charlotte Boan (East Kilbride RFC)
Charlotte Gilmour (Strathallan HS)
Cieron Bell (Ayr RFC)
Ciorstaidh Ainsworth (Stirling County RFC)
Eilidh MacGilvray (Highland RFC)
Ellee Mills (Stirling County RFC)
Ellie Henderson (Annan RFC)
Emelia Knights (Biggar RFC)
Emma Inglis Casey (Cartha QP RFC)
Freya Walker (Stirling County RFC)
Gerry Kimm (Biggar RFC)
Hannah Ramsay (Livingston RFC)
Holly McIntyre (Ayr RFC)
Jess Fyfe (Auchterarder)
Katie McPherson (Biggar RFC)
Kaylee Fraser (Biggar RFC)
Lexie Steel (Annan RFC)
Molly Poolman (Howe Of Fife)
Morgan Nellies (Caithness RFC)
Natasha Logan (Stirling County RFC)
Neve Henderson (Stirling County RFC)
Orla Protctor (Stirling County RFC)
Rachel Philipps (Biggar RFC/Edinburgh University)
Rhea Clarke (Stirling County RFC)
Roma Fraser (Auchterarder)
Rosa Cobban (Cartha QP RFC)
Shannon Pasotti (Caithness RFC/Orkney RFC)
Siobhann McGinley (Hillhead Jordanhill)

Scottish Futures U20
Aimee Johnston (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Anne Young (Edinburgh University)
Ciara McCulloch (Edinburgh University)
Elliann Clarke (Edinburgh University)
Emily Flavell (Edinburgh University)
Eva Donaldson (Edinburgh University)
Eve Thomson (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Evie Gallagher (Edinburgh University)
Evie Wills (Stirling County)
Grace Stocks (Loughborough Town)
Katie McLaren (Stirling County)
Lily Glendinning (Annan)
Megan Lloyd (Stirling County)
Meryl Smith (Edinburgh University)
Samantha Callaghan (Cartha Queens Park)
Samantha Djoh (Cartha Queens Park)
Sarah Denholm (Edinburgh University)
Sarah McPherson (Cartha Queens Park)
Shona Campbell (Montrose RC)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners

Peter Vardy logo