PREM REVIEW | Heriot's go third after defeating Accies

PREM REVIEW | Heriot's go third after defeating Accies

Heriot’s welcomed Edinburgh Academicals on an overcast day at Goldenacre in the latest round of the Tennent’s Premiership.

The home side enjoyed the early periods of pressure, breaking the deadlock after 10 minutes through Jack McLean following a maul after a good take from the line-out.

Heriot’s again displayed the strength of their forwards, as they powered Andrew Simmers over the whitewash under the posts to double their lead a few minutes later. Ross Jones converting both scores (14-0).

The visitors were determined not to go down easily, setting up camp inside the Heriot’s 22, but couldn’t find their way over the line, following some crunching tackles from the Heriot’s defence who held strong.

Accies did eventually get their try just before the break. Heriot’s looked destined to score, sending the ball out wide, but a fantastic interception followed by a 95-metre sprint, courtesy of Cammy Gray, brought his side back into contention at half-time (14-5).

Heriot’s started the second half with intent. Angus Inwood was sin-binned for Accies and from that penalty Jack McLean claimed his second score of the game to extend Heriot’s lead (19-5).

Accies Cole Imrie and Heriot’s Josh Scott both received yellow cards in the final quarter to reduce both teams down to 14.

The Goldenacre crowd were entertained with two further tries before the end to ensure a bonus-point win.

A strong drive by Calum Marshall got him over the line and Craig Robertson picked a hole in the Accies defence to get on the scoresheet before the conclusion, with Jones converting the latter, with the final score 31-5. The win pushes Heriot’s up to third position in the league.


Heriot’s:Rory McMichael, Cameron Lineen, Ross Jones, Dougie Steel, Craig Robertson, Stuart Edwards, Andrew Simmers, Martin Bouab, Michael Liness, Stuan Cessford, Charlie Jupp, Adam Sinclair, Martin Hughes, Jack Mclean, Ruaridh Leishman, Ali Johnstone, Josh Scott, Callum Marshall, Struan Dewar, Scott King.

Edinburgh Academicals: Paddy Flood, Cammy Gray, Robbie Chalmers, Will Stephen; Robbie Kent, Vincent Hart, Max Love, Martin McGinley, Callum Black, Cole Imrie, Ronan Seydak, Robert Lovett, Michael Badenhorst, Jamie Sole, Lawrie Seydak, Rory Jackson, Cammy Taylor, Nick Stephen, Angus Inwood, Ross Cameron.

Tennent's Premiership Results

1 December 2018

Melrose RFC 29 - 24 Watsonian FC
Heriot's 31 - 5 Edinburgh Academical FC
Boroughmuir 29 - 12 Glasgow Hawks RFC
Stirling County RFC 25 - 27 Ayr RFC
Hawick RFC 9 - 3 Currie Chieftains

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners