Scholarship recipients bound for home of World Cup winners


Scholarship recipients bound for home of World Cup winners

Scottish Rugby today confirmed the trio of promising rugby prospects to embark on a once-in-a-lifetime rugby experience in South Africa as part of a prestigious scholarship award.

FOSROC Academy players Mikey Heron, Cole Lamberton and Adam Scott have been awarded the coveted John Macphail Rugby Scholarship for 2019 and leave on Monday (27 January). They will spend five months immersed in South Africa’s renowned rugby culture at the high-performance training facility at Stellenbosch University.

Previous recipients of this unique rugby opportunity include Scotland captain John Barclay (the first recipient in 2005), Grant Gilchrist (2011), Jonny Gray (2012), Finn Russell (2013) and Adam Ashe (2014).

The programme funded by the Robertson Trust – now in its 15th year – allows players to benefit from a longer period of time, while keeping aligned to the northern hemisphere season.

Scottish Rugby Technical Director, Stephen Gemmell, added: “Our thanks again to The Robertson Trust and Macphail family for their continued support of Scottish Rugby and our players.

“The partnership allows us to send some of our most promising young players to other parts of the world where they can immerse themselves in new environments, with different coaches, fresh challenges and at world-class facilities.

“This year we will again send our selected U19 players to the home of the recent World Cup Winners, South Africa, to be based at the world class Stellenbosch Academy of Sport.

“Their development will be accelerated by experiencing a different culture, undertaking an intense programme, and training and playing alongside players from different countries, all as part of their own individual development plans.

“The scholarship has played an important role in a number of our current professional and international players’ careers and will, I’m sure, provide a launch pad for these players to develop as part of the FOSROC Scottish Rugby Academy.”

The Macphail Scholarship was established in 2005, as a partnership between The Robertson Trust and Scottish Rugby.

Created in memory of ex-Scotland Internationalist John Macphail (1949-1951), the scholarship was developed for talented young players but has also supported coaches, including Iain Monaghan and Chris Paterson.

Mark Laing, Chairman of the Scholarship Committee of The Robertson Trust, said: “For over 14 years, The Robertson Trust has assisted in the development of some of Scotland’s brightest young rugby talent and I have no doubt that the latest recipients of the John Macphail Scholarship will continue this proud legacy.

“All at The Robertson Trust, along with the Macphail family, would like to wish Mikey, Cole and Adam the best of luck, not just for their time in South Africa but for their careers beyond.

“I am sure they will all gain a lot from the many wonderful experiences the scholarship offers and I look forward to following their progress.”

John Macphail Rugby Scholarship recipients

2019: Mikey Heron, Cole Lamberton, Adam Scott

2018: Thomas Jeffrey, Jacob Henry, Kristian Kay
2017: Angus Fraser, Andrew Jardine and Guy Kelly
2016: Patrick Kelly, Ross McCann, Mike Blair (coach) and Calum Forrester (coach)
2015: Callum Hunter-Hill, Ben Robbins, Ben Cairns (coach) and Duncan Hodge (coach)
2014: Adam Ashe, Ewan McQuillin, Don Caskie (coach) and Kenny Murray (coach)
2013: Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, Finn Russell, Shade Munro (coach) and Alex Duncan (coach)
2012: Jonny Gray, Gregor Hunter, Chris Paterson (coach) and Ben Fisher (coach)
2011: Grant Gilchrist, Harry Leonard, George Turner and Ian Monaghan (coach)
2010: Finlay Gillies
2009: Lewis Niven
2008: Roddy Grant
2007: Kevin Bryce
2006: Graham Hogg
2005: John Barclay

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners

Peter Vardy logo