Scotland name settled side for match with Japan

Scotland name settled side for match with Japan

Scotland Women Head Coach Bryan Easson today named his team for the Autumn international match against Japan at DAM Health Stadium (14 November, kick-off 4.10pm) – live on BBC ALBA.

Scotland make just one change from the side that defeated Ireland in the crucial Rugby World Cup 2021 European Qualifier in September.

Easson’s team take on a Japan team that only played their first game since defeating Scotland at Scotstoun in November 2019 last Sunday, losing 23-5 to Wales.

Scotland will be looking for a third consecutive victory after wins against Spain and Ireland in the recent European World Cup Qualifiers.

The only change from Scotland’s last game sees Sarah Bonar return into the starting XV in the second row after being named as a replacement against Ireland in September.

Easson said: “Although this is an excellent opportunity to build momentum for the World Cup Qualifiers Repechage Tournament, we have worked very hard this week to prepare and concentrate for this Test match. Our focus is 100% on the game this weekend.

“This is a group of players who have played together a lot now and we will use this fixture to keep the team connected ahead of our World Cup repechage games next year and I know the players will want to take the opportunity to represent their country again in front of fans for the first time since that Japan game in 2019.

“We have spoken this week about making sure we fully respect Japan. They have waited a long time to play again after beating us at Scotstoun in 2019 and they will be stronger for their game against Wales. Japan are a very skilful team who like to play with tempo. They have some very talented individuals and I have no doubt that this will be a very exciting match.”

In the front-row, Lana Skeldon packs down alongside Leah Bartlett and Christine Belisle, with Emma Wassell and Sarah Bonar combining in the second row.

Captain Rachel Malcolm starts at blindside flanker, with Rachel McLachlan and Jade Konkel making up the back row.

Jenny Maxwell and Helen Nelson will continue to pull the strings through their half-back partnership.

Lisa Thomson and Hannah Smith make up the centre partnership, with Thomson starting at inside centre and Smith at outside centre.

Full-back Chloe Rollie combines with Megan Gaffney and Rhona Lloyd to form the back-three.

In the replacements, Edinburgh University duo Anne Young and Shona Campbell are in line to make their Scotland debuts.

Tickets are available at, at £12 for adults, £5 for U18s, and £1 for U12s with a paying adult ticket.

You can follow all the action live on BBC ALBA. Live updates will also be provided on

Scotland Women team to face Japan on Sunday at DAM Health Stadium (kick-off 4.10pm)
– live on BBC ALBA

15. Chloe Rollie (Exeter Chiefs) – 43 caps

14. Rhona Lloyd (Les Lionness Du Stade Bordelais) – 31 caps
13. Hannah Smith (Watsonians) – 29 caps
12. Lisa Thomson (Sale Sharks) – 38 caps
11. Megan Gaffney (Heriot’s) – 37 caps

10. Helen Nelson (Loughborough Lightning) – 35 caps
9. Jenny Maxwell (Loughborough Lightning) – 35 caps

1. Leah Bartlett (Loughborough Lightning) – 10 caps
2. Lana Skeldon (Worcester Warriors) – 46 caps
3. Christine Belisle (Cartha Queens Park) – 10 caps
4. Emma Wassell (Loughborough Lightning) – 50 caps
5. Sarah Bonar (Harlequins) – 24 caps
6. Rachel Malcolm (Loughborough Lightning) CAPTAIN – 22 caps
7. Rachel McLachlan (Sale Sharks) – 22 caps
8. Jade Konkel (Harlequins) – 47 caps


16. Molly Wright (Watsonians) – 8 caps
17. Anne Young (Edinburgh University) – uncapped
18. Lisa Cockburn (Darlington Mowden Park) – 21 caps
19. Louise McMillan (Hillhead Jordanhill) – 29 caps
20. Evie Gallagher (Stirling County) – 6 caps
21. Sarah Law (Sale Sharks) – 46 caps
22. Evie Wills (Hillhead Jordanhill) – 1 cap
23. Shona Campbell (Edinburgh University) - uncapped

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners

Peter Vardy logo