Scotland squad announced for upcoming Women’s Six Nations

Scotland squad announced for upcoming Women’s Six Nations

Scotland Head Coach Philip Doyle has named the squad that he will call from for the upcoming Women’s Six Nations.

The group, which has a few key players currently missing and features a mix of youth and experience, will be playing two home matches at Scotstoun, Glasgow (secure your tickets now) and all matches will be live via BBC Alba.

Captain Rachel Malcolm is back from injury so will be available for selection from the start of the Championship. Chloe Rollie is also due to return to the squad following her recent injury and Sarah Law is also set to feature near the start of the Women’s Six Nations.

Megan Kennedy and Abi Evans are still recovering from injury but might play a part later in the tournament. Jenny Maxwell’s availability is still undetermined following the injury she sustained in Spain last weekend.

Five uncapped players feature in the squad with centres Coreen Grant and Rachel Shankland, wing Isla Alejandro, back row Evie Gallagher and scrum half Rachel Law all included. Law was recently called into the Scotland squad to travel to Spain, but an injury ruled her out at the last minute.

The rest of the squad remains largely unchanged following the successful trip to Spain last weekend.

Doyle commented on the selection saying: “I am delighted that our captain Rachel Malcolm and Chloe Rollie will be back in the squad for the opening game of the Women’s Six Nations and that Sarah Law will be available near the start of the Championships as well.

“It is great to see some new players coming into the set up. They can properly challenge for positions in the future and their inclusion is most importantly developing that depth in an important year.

“We are coming off the back of a hugely positive weekend in Spain, so the squad and the management are feeling in a good place for the start of this busy period.

“Whilst we know that this Six Nations will be challenging, we firmly believe that we need to focus on increasing our performances and becoming a properly competitive team within this competition. In order to develop our performances ahead of the World Cup Qualifiers, our priority is closing the gap on the stronger nations like England and France.

“Results have not been good enough in previous seasons so now is the time to improve our performances after a positive start to the season.

“I have been focussing on pushing myself, players, staff and Scottish Rugby to improve and everyone is very much working towards the same shared goal right now.”

Scotland Women squad for 2019 Women’s Six Nations

Leah Bartlett (Loughborough Lightning)
Christine Belisle (Cartha Queens Park)
Sarah Bonar (Loughborough Lightning)
Lisa Cockburn (Darlington Mowden Park)
Siobhan Cattigan (Stirling County RFC)
Mairi Forsyth (Corstorphine Cougars)
Evie Gallagher (Edinburgh University)
Jade Konkel (Harlequins)
Rachel Malcolm (Loughborough Lightning)
Rachel McLachlan (Darlington Mowden Park)
Louise McMillan (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Panashe Muzambe (Watsonians/Edinburgh University)
Jodie Rettie (Saracens)
Lana Skeldon (Darlington Mowden Park)
Emma Wassell (Corstorphine Cougars)
Molly Wright (Watsonians)

Isla Alejandro (Loughborough Lightning)
Sarah Denholm (Edinburgh University)
Megan Gaffney (Watsonians)
Coreen Grant (Saracens)
Sarah Law (Darlington Mowden Park)
Rachel Law (Edinburgh University)
Rhona Lloyd (Loughborough Lightning)
Mairi McDonald (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Helen Nelson (Loughborough Lightning)
Chloe Rollie (Harlequins)
Annabel Sergeant (Heriots RFC)
Rachel Shankland (Stirling County)
Hannah Smith (Watsonians)
Lisa Thomson (Darlington Mowden Park)
Evie Tonkin (Darlington Mowden Park)
Alex Wallace (Harrogate RFC)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners