Scotland squad update

Scotland squad update

Scotland number 8 Matt Fagerson will miss Friday’s Guinness Six Nations match against France through an injury sustained in training on Wednesday. He has stayed in Scotland to have it assessed and will return to his club to start his recovery.

Glasgow Warriors forward Ryan Wilson has been called into the Scotland squad and travelled to France with the team for the concluding match of the 2021 Guinness Six Nations.

Edinburgh Rugby’s Nick Haining replaces Fagerson in the starting Scotland XV at number 8 with Ryan Wilson joining the replacements.

Head Coach Gregor Townsend said: “Matt suffered an ankle injury in our final training session this week before we headed to Paris.

"It is disappointing for Matt, who has been playing consistently well throughout the Championship.

"Nick [Haining] now has the opportunity from the start to show his abilities in what will be a great challenge for our forward pack.

"We were able to call on Ryan [Wilson] at short notice given Glasgow Warriors had already conducted two Covid tests this week, which meant he was safe to travel and join up with the squad yesterday afternoon.

"Given Ryan’s Test match experience and his form this season, we believe he will grab his opportunity on his return to the squad. And, if he comes off the bench tomorrow night, he will achieve his 50th cap, which is a significant milestone.”

Scotland team to play France at Stade de France in the 2021 Guinness Six Nations

Friday 26 March (kick-off 8pm, UK time) – live on BBC One

15. Stuart Hogg CAPTAIN (Exeter Chiefs) 84 caps

14. Darcy Graham (Edinburgh) - 18 caps

13. Chris Harris (Gloucester) – 27 caps

12. Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors) - 17 caps

11. Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh) - 9 caps

10. Finn Russell (Racing 92) VICE CAPTAIN – 54 caps

9. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) – 41 caps

1. Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh) – 15 caps

2. George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) – 16 caps

3. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 37 caps

4. Sam Skinner (Exeter Chiefs) – 11 caps

5. Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh) – 44 caps

6. Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh) VICE CAPTAIN – 26 caps

7. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh) – 40 caps

8. Nick Haining (Edinburgh) – 7 caps


16. David Cherry (Edinburgh) – 4 caps

17. Oli Kebble (Glasgow Warriors) – 7 caps

18. Simon Berghan (Edinburgh) – 30 caps

19. Alex Craig (Gloucester) – 1 cap

20. Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors) – 49 caps

21. Scott Steele (Harlequins) – 4 caps

22. Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors) – 22 caps

23. Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) – 30 caps

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners

Peter Vardy logo