Scotland unveil new faces and joint captains for Tonga test

Scotland unveil new faces and joint captains for Tonga test

Scotland’s opening match of the 2021 Autumn Nations Series will be marked with a number of notable firsts as Gregor Townsend names the team to face Tonga at BT Murrayfield on Saturday 30 October – kick-off 2:30pm.

Scotland will be represented by Co-Captains for the first time as Glasgow Warriors and British & Irish Lion Ali Price and Edinburgh Rugby’s Jamie Ritchie both lead the team.

The game, live on Amazon Prime, will also see Scotland field four uncapped players in the starting XV, two in the backs and two in the forwards.

A further four debutants are in line for caps off the bench, which has a 6-2 forwards split.

Edinburgh flyer Darcy Graham starts at full-back and is joined in the back three by Glasgow duo Kyle Steyn, who will add to his single cap won against France in the last match at BT Murrayfield played in front of crowds in March 2020, and Rufus McLean who will make his first Scotland start.

Joining McLean on Scotland debut will be clubmate Sione Tuipulotu who lines up with fellow Glasgow Warrior Sam Johnson as the centre partnership.

Co-Captain and Lions scrum-half Ali Price teams up with Edinburgh’s Blair Kinghorn at fly-half to form a brand new half-back pairing.

In the pack fellow British & Irish Lions Zander Fagerson starts at tighthead prop with Hamish Watson at openside flanker, as they feature for Scotland for the first time since the South Africa tour this summer.

Edinburgh Rugby’s Jamie Ritchie, also named as Co-Captain, packs down on the blindside of the scrum which is anchored by Glasgow Warriors’ Matt Fagerson at number eight.

Youth and experience combine in the second row which sees Rob Harley earn his 23rd cap for Scotland and joined by Edinburgh lock Jamie Hodgson, who will win his first cap.

Up front George Turner starts at hooker with Fagerson and with a debutant on the loose-head side in Edinburgh Rugby’s Pierre Schoeman.

Edinburgh Rugby provide forward replacements on debut in the form of lock Marshall Sykes and back-row Luke Crosbie.

Glasgow Warriors half-back partners Jamie Dobie and Ross Thompson are the uncapped backs.

Former Scotland Captain Stuart McInally is available off the bench alongside Glasgow props Jamie Bhatti and Oli Kebble in the front row, with backrow forward Nick Haining of Edinburgh completing the matchday squad.

Scotland Head Coach Gregor Townsend said: “As a playing and coaching group we are looking forward to returning to international rugby over the coming four weeks in the Autumn Nations Series.

“This week has been our first opportunity since the Six Nations to come together as a team, and our goal is to become a better team over the next month. Saturday will also be a huge occasion for a number of players in our squad who have the honour of playing for their country for the first time.”

Tickets for the game start at £16 for adults and £11 for U18s and students, with U12s tickets only £1. Secure your tickets here.

Scotland team to face Tonga – Saturday 30 October – kick-off 2:30pm - live on Amazon Prime

15. Darcy Graham – Edinburgh Rugby – 19 caps

14. Kyle Steyn – Glasgow Warriors – 1 cap

13. Sione Tuipulotu – Glasgow Warriors – Uncapped

12. Sam Johnson – Glasgow Warriors – 18 caps

11. Rufus McLean – Glasgow Warriors – Uncapped

10. Blair Kinghorn – Edinburgh Rugby – 25 caps

9. Ali Price (cc) – Glasgow Warriors – 42 caps

1. Pierre Schoeman – Edinburgh Rugby – Uncapped

2. George Turner – Glasgow Warriors – 17 caps

3. Zander Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors – 38 caps

4. Jamie Hodgson – Edinburgh Rugby – Uncapped

5. Rob Harley – Glasgow Warriors – 22 caps

6. Jamie Ritchie (cc) – Edinburgh Rugby – 27 caps

7. Hamish Watson – Edinburgh Rugby – 41 caps

8. Matt Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors – 13 caps


16. Stuart McInally – Edinburgh Rugby – 40 caps

17. Jamie Bhatti – Glasgow Warriors – 18 caps

18. Oli Kebble – Glasgow Warriors – 8 caps

19. Marshall Sykes – Edinburgh Rugby – Uncapped

20. Luke Crosbie – Edinburgh Rugby – Uncapped

21. Nick Haining – Edinburgh Rugby – 8 caps

22. Jamie Dobie – Glasgow Warriors – Uncapped

23. Ross Thompson – Glasgow Warriors – Uncapped

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners

Peter Vardy logo