Scotland Women 7s announce squad for Amsterdam

Scotland Women 7s announce squad for Amsterdam

Scotland Women 7s Head Coach Scott Forrest has named his first playing squad of the season for the Amsterdam 7s this weekend (Saturday 9 June – Sunday 10 June).

The squad of 13 includes nine players who helped gain promotion to this year’s Rugby Europe Grand Prix series with unbeaten performances in Czech Republic and Hungary in last season’s Rugby Europe Trophy.

Scott Forrest said:“This event marks a vital part of our preparation for the start of the Rugby Europe Grand Prix later this month.

“We have an exciting squad with a good mix of experience and young players and have started to build momentum over the last month within our training camps, with the camp last weekend being the best so far.

“Amsterdam is the next opportunity to challenge ourselves in a competitive environment.”

Eilidh Sinclair joins the squad following a try-scoring performance in this year’s Women’s Six Nations match against Italy.

Mairi McDonald returns to the squad, while Evie Gallagher makes the step up from Scotland Women 7s U18 and Hannah Chrisp also plays for the first time.

Scotland will play club teams from France, Netherlands and an international select in their group and could play international sides in the knock-out stages.

Having gained promotion back into the Grand Prix series by winning the Rugby Europe Trophy in 2017 the squad will play Grand Prix tournaments at Marcoussis, Paris on Friday 29 and Saturday 30 June and Kazan on Saturday 1 and Sunday 2 September.

Scotland Women 7s Squad – Amsterdam 7s

Hannah Chrisp (Murrayfield Wanderers), Abi Evans (Hillhead Jordanhill), Evie Gallagher (Stirling County), Lauren Harris* (Edinburgh University), Lisa Martin* (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks), Jenny Maxwell (Loughborough Lightning), Mairi McDonald* (Hillhead Jordanhill), Louise McMillan* (Hillhead Jordanhill), Liz Musgrove (Edinburgh University), Helen Nelson* (Murrayfield Wanderers),Chloe Rollie* (Lille Metropole Rugby Club Villeneuvois), Eilidh Sinclair* (Murrayfield Wanderers), Hannah Smith (Hillhead Jordanhill)

*BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy Players 2017/18

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners