Scotland Women 7s squad announced for Lisbon

Scotland Women 7s squad announced for Lisbon

The Scotland Women 7s squad has been named ahead of the Rugby Europe Sevens Championship Series opener in Lisbon this weekend (5-6 June).

FOSROC Scottish Rugby Academy coach and former Scotland Club XV stand-off, Chris Laidlaw, has been appointed Interim Head Coach in the absence of Scott Forrest, who is currently in charge of the women’s programme with GB Sevens ahead of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

Laidlaw has selected a mix of experience and youth, with Shona Campbell and Coreen Grant looking to receive their first Scotland 7s cap this weekend.

Megan Gaffney, Helen Nelson and Chloe Rollie are also named in the squad, having recently returned from GB Sevens camp.

The first-leg of the Women’s Championship, which was formerly known as the Grand Prix, will feature nine teams from across the continent with Scotland featuring in Pool C alongside Spain and Portugal.

Scotland’s first match of the day will see the side face hosts Portugal (10.44am local time), before taking on Spain later in the afternoon (2.44pm local time).

Laidlaw said: “We have had three weekend camps leading up to this first tournament which has provided us valuable time together as a group to connect off-field and work hard at our game on-field.

“Selection has been really competitive which is a credit to the whole training group and the way they have applied themselves over the past three weeks leading into this first tournament.

“The players selected know they have a really exciting challenge ahead to represent the whole group in Portugal at the weekend.”

The recent weekend camps have also provided the opportunity for several Scottish Futures players to experience a high-performance environment, with Cieron Bell, Sarah Denholm, Roma Fraser, Gerry Kimm and Orla Proctor all taking part in sessions as part of the extended training squad.

All tournaments will be live streamed on Rugby Europe TV.

Scotland Women 7s squad to travel to Lisbon

Shona Campbell (Edinburgh University)

Abi Evans (Darlington Mowden Park)

Megan Gaffney (Heriot's)

Coreen Grant (Saracens)

Jenny Maxwell (Loughborough Lightning)

Liz Musgrove (Unattached)

Helen Nelson (Loughborough Lightning)

Chloe Rollie (Harlequins)

Annabel Sergeant (Heriots)

Rachel Shankland (Stirling County)

Meryl Smith (Edinburgh University)

Evie Wills (Stirling County)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners

Peter Vardy logo