Scotland Women U18s 7s select squad for Rugby Europe Trophy

Scotland Women U18s 7s select squad for Rugby Europe Trophy

A Scotland Women U18 squad of 12 has been selected to compete in the Rugby Europe 7s Trophy in Andorra this weekend (22-24 September).

This will be the first time that Scotland Women U18 will compete in the international competition, marking an important step in their development.

Scotland will face-off against Georgia, Ukraine and hosts, Andorra, in their pool before playing Germany, Poland, Latvia or Bulgaria in the knock-out stages.

Head Coach Louise Dalgliesh said: “This is an exciting opportunity for the girls to test themselves in a completely new environment against some unknown teams.

“The focus will have to be very much on our own performance as this is the only thing within our control.”

This tournament offers an opportunity for the development side to gain international rugby experience and prepare for the challenges of a high-performance environment.

A number of the squad will run out for the U18 side after a strong showing for Scotland Women U19 earlier this month in the School Games at Loughborough University.

Niamh Deans, Anna Forsyth and Erin Foley join the nine players involved in the School Games, including Evie Gallagher who led the scoring with five of the squad’s 16 tries at that tournament.

They will be looking to build on a promising tournament that saw two wins over England North and a draw with England Midlands.

Results will be posted on the Rugby Europe website.

Scotland Women under-18s 7s squad to play in the Rugby Europe Tournament in Andorra

Saturday 23rd September – Sunday 24th September 2017

Sula Callender (Murrayfield Wanderers)

Niamh Deans (Royal High Corstorphine)

Erinn Foley (Hillhead Jordanhill)

Anna Forsyth (Gala RFC)

Evie Gallagher (Stirling County RFC)

Melanie Grant (Hillhead Jordanhill)

Charlotte Hope (Murrayfield Wanderers & Edinburgh University Ladies RFC)

Elis Martin (Hillhead Jordanhill & Edinburgh University Ladies RFC)

Kirsty Martin (Stirling County)

Morven Rough (Watsonians FC)

Erin Sinclair (Stirling County RFC)

Emma Turner (Royal High Corstorphine)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners