Sergeant and Cattigan called into Scotland Women Squad

Sergeant and Cattigan called into Scotland Women Squad

Philip Doyle has made two changes to his squad that is heading out to South Africa this weekend. The squad will play two Test matches against the Springboks Women’s team.

Dropping out of the squad through injury are second-row Sarah Bonar (Loughborough Lightning) and winger Liz Musgrove (Darlington Mowden Park).

Annabel Sergeant, who has 25 caps for Scotland Women and seven Scotland Women 7s caps plays for Edinburgh based Heriot’s. Stirling County’s Siobhan Cattigan will be hoping to pick up her 10th cap for the National side.

Scotland Women will be heading out to Cape Town on Friday to play South Africa in two Test matches on Monday 30 September (4pm BST) and Saturday 5 October (2pm BST). Both matches will be streamed live with the link being shared on Scottish Rugby’s social media sites.

Head Coach Philip Doyle said on the changes: “I am really disappointed that we are not able to take Sarah and Liz with us to South Africa. Both of them would have been massive assets to the squad and I wish them all the best in their recovery.

“This opening in the squad has allowed two other players to come in who have been training really well with the extended squad in our training camps. I am happy that they are getting the opportunity to come to South Africa and I am hopefully that I will get the opportunity to see what Sarah and Liz can bring to the team later in the season.”

Scotland Women squad to travel to South Africa

Christine Belisle (Cartha Queens Park)
Siobhan Cattigan (Stirling County)
Lisa Cockburn (Darlington Mowden Park)
Mairi Forsyth (Corstorphine Cougars)
Megan Kennedy (Stirling County RFC)
Jade Konkel (Harlequins)
Rachel Malcolm (Loughborough Lightning)
Rachel McLachlan (Darlington Mowden Park)
Louise McMillan (Hillhead Jordanhill)
Panashe Muzambe (Edinburgh University / Watsonians)
Jodie Rettie (Saracens)
Lana Skeldon (Darlington Mowden Park)
Emma Wassell (Corstorphine Cougar)
Anne Young (Edinburgh University)

Sarah Denholm (Edinburgh University)
Abi Evans (Darlington Mowden Park)
Megan Gaffney (Watsonians)
Mhairi Grieve (Firwood Waterloo)
Sarah Law (Darlington Mowden Park)
Rhona Lloyd (Loughborough Lightning)
Jenny Maxwell (Loughborough Lightning)
Helen Nelson Tour Captain (Loughborough Lightning)
Chloe Rollie (Harlequins)
Annabel Sergeant (Heriots Blues Women)
Hannah Smith (Watsonians)
Lisa Thomson (Darlington Mowden Park)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners