Settled Scotland Women 7s squad for Rugby Europe Trophy

Settled Scotland Women 7s squad for Rugby Europe Trophy

Head Coach Scott Wight has named the Scotland Women 7s squad to compete in the second and final leg of the Rugby Europe Women's Sevens Trophy this weekend (22-23 July).

The same squad who won the first round of the Trophy in the Czech Republic will travel to Hungary where they will face Malta, Czech Republic and Finland in pool A on day one.

Captained by Lisa Thomson, the team enjoyed an unbeaten run to the final in Ostrava, scoring 42 tries in the process and conceding just one.

Rhona Lloyd, Elizabeth Musgrove and Hannah Smith remain in the team following their try-scoring debuts. Lloyd went on to become the side’s top try scorer with 12 to her name.

Hillhead Jordanhill’s Abi Evans and Louise McMillan retain their positions alongside Murrayfield Wanderers’ Helen Nelson and Chloe Rollie, all of whom made their Scotland Women 7s debuts last season.

Experience comes in the form of Lisa Martin, Megan Gaffney, Lauren Harris and Jenny Maxwell, who all earned their first caps for Scotland Women 7s in 2012, when the team was established, or 2013.

Head Coach Scott Wight said: “The competition among the extended squad has been fierce and the players have challenged each other to improve every week.

“The effort from the whole group has been outstanding and has driven us forward since we came together at the start of summer.

The squad who played in Czech achieved what we set out too and will take confidence from winning the first round, but we are only half way through the job of gaining promotion to the Grand Prix so mustn’t be complacent.

“Last time we took three un-capped players, who did really well, among the more experienced players with all 12 proving they are strong enough to start.

“I think the balance was right in terms of experience and the combinations complemented each other which is why I’ve gone for a settled selection.

“Our build-up over the past month has been really strong and everyone is excited to kick-off the second round on Saturday.”

Scotland Women 7s squad to play in the Rugby Europe Women’s Sevens Trophy in Esztergom

Saturday 22 July and Sunday 23 July 2017

Abi Evans (Hillhead Jordanhill)

Megan Gaffney (Edinburgh University)

Lauren Harris (Melrose)

Rhona Lloyd* (Edinburgh University)

Lisa Martin* (Murrayfield Wanderers)

Jenny Maxwell (Lichfield)

Louise McMillan* (Hillhead Jordanhill)

Elizabeth Musgrove (Edinburgh University)

Helen Nelson* (Murrayfield Wanderers)

Chloe Rollie* (Murrayfield Wanderers)

Hannah Smith (Hillhead Jordanhill)

Lisa Thomson* (Edinburgh University)

*BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy Stage 2 Player

Scotland Women 7s fixtures in the second leg of the Rugby Europe Women’s Sevens Trophy

Esztergom, Hungary | July 22-23

Saturday 22 July

9am BST Scotland v Malta

11.45am BST Scotland v Finland

2.30pm BST Scotland v Czech Republic

Sunday 23 July


Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners