FOSROC Super6 all set for second season

FOSROC Super6 all set for second season

Scottish Rugby has announced the second season of the FOSROC Super6 competition will begin on Friday 30 July.

After a 15-month hiatus the tournament kicks off with Boroughmuir Bears hosting city rivals Heriot’s Rugby at Meggetland, the following day Stirling County will host Borders side Southern Knights and on Sunday 1 August Ayrshire Bulls will host Watsonians Rugby in the first live TV game of the tournament.

The first season of the FOSROC Super6, the part-time professional league which bridges the gap between amateur and professional rugby in Scotland, was stopped short in March 2020 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Each of the six teams (Ayrshire Bulls, Boroughmuir Bears, Heriot’s Rugby, Southern Knights, Stirling County and Watsonians Rugby) had played 10 regular season fixtures. Watsonians were sitting top of the table with eight wins to finish that part of the campaign three points ahead of Heriot’s Rugby.

During 2020-2021 professional rugby season 31 players who had played in the FOSROC Super6 2019-2020 season appeared for either Edinburgh Rugby and Glasgow Warriors.

Edinburgh Rugby featured 18 players who had previously plied their trade in the part-time professional league including winger Jack Blain, recent debutant Cameron Hutchison and Scotland U20 back row Harri Morris.

At Scotstoun, there were 13 players featured in FOSROC Super6 such as centre, Stafford McDowall, full-back Olli Smith and stand-off Ross Thomson, who was awarded both McCrea Financial Services Player of the Season and the Land Rover Young Player of the Season awards last week.

This month’s Scotland summer tour squad includes five players who played in the inaugural FOSROC Super6 season: Rory Darge (Southern Knights), Cameron Henderson (Stirling County), Jamie Hodgson (Watsonians Rugby), Jack Blain (Heriot’s Rugby) and Ross Thompson (Ayrshire Bulls).

Scottish Rugby’s Director of High Performance, Jim Mallinder said: “We are delighted that the FOSROC Super6 will be restarting at the end of July after an understandable, but frustrating pause due to Covid.

“The FOSROC Super6 is the bridge for players to make their way from the club to the professional game, as we’ve seen by the number who have already progressed through to Edinburgh, Glasgow and now the Scotland summer tour squad.

“The tournament is being played this season in its originally intended slot from July through to October with the hope better conditions will provide an opportunity for teams to play to a high standard and continue to develop the players and coaches involved.

“I’m looking forward to seeing the competition get underway and would like to wish everyone involved well in the months ahead and extend my thanks for all their hard work to prepare for the second season in difficult circumstances.”

An announcement on the TV broadcaster for this year’s tournament will be made soon.


2021 FOSROC Super6 Fixtures


Friday 30 July - Boroughmuir Bears v Heriot’s Rugby, 7.30pm

Saturday 31 July - Stirling County v Southern Knights, 3pm

Sunday 1 August - Ayrshire Bulls v Watsonians Rugby, 1.30pm


Friday 6 August - Watsonians Rugby v Stirling County, 7.30pm

Saturday 7 August - Ayrshire Bulls v Boroughmuir Bears, 3pm

Sunday 8 August - Heriot's Rugby v Southern Knights, 1.30pm


Friday 13 August - Boroughmuir Bears v Watsonians Rugby, 7.30pm

Saturday 14 August - Southern Knights v Ayrshire Bulls, 3pm

Sunday 15 August - Stirling County v Heriot's Rugby, 1.30pm


Saturday 21 August - Heriot's Rugby v Watsonians Rugby, 2pm

Saturday 21 August - Stirling County v Ayrshire Bulls, 5pm

Sunday 22 August - Southern Knights v Boroughmuir Bears, 1.30pm


Friday 27 August - Watsonians v Southern Knights, 7.30pm

Saturday 28 August - Ayrshire Bulls v Heriot's Rugby, 3pm

Sunday 29 August - Boroughmuir Bears v Stirling County, 1.30pm


Friday 10 September - Watsonians v Heriot's Rugby, 7.30pm

Saturday 11 September - Ayrshire Bulls v Stirling County, 3pm

Sunday 12 September - Boroughmuir Bears v Southern Knights, 1.30pm


Friday 17 September - Southern Knights v Watsonians, 7.30pm

Saturday 18 September - Stirling County v Boroughmuir Bears, 3pm

Sunday 19 September - Heriot's Rugby v Ayrshire Bulls, 1.30pm


Friday 24 September - Southern Knights v Heriot's Rugby, 7.30pm

Saturday 25 September - Boroughmuir Bears v Ayrshire Bulls, 3pm

Sunday 26 September - Stirling County v Watsonians Rugby, 1.30pm


Saturday 2 October - Heriot's Rugby v Stirling County, 2pm

Saturday 2 October - Ayrshire Bulls v Southern Knights, 5pm

Sunday 3 October - Watsonians Rugby v Boroughmuir, 1.30pm


Saturday 9 October - Heriot’s Rugby v Boroughmuir Bears, 2pm

Saturday 9 October - Southern Knights v Stirling County, 5pm

Sunday 10 October - Watsonians Rugby v Ayrshire Bulls, 1.30pm


Weekend of: Friday 15 October

5th v 6th Final

3rd v 4th Final

1st v 2nd Final


All fixtures and kick-off times are subject to Scottish Government coronavirus guidelines and broadcast requirements. All kick-off times BST.

Tags

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.

Sign-up

Principal Partners

BT
Macron
Peter Vardy logo