Teams named for 1872 Cup derby

Teams named for 1872 Cup derby

Edinburgh Rugby and Glasgow Warriors have confirmed the teams set to lock horns in this Saturday’s 1872 Cup decider, the crowing match of Silver Saturday at BT Murrayfield Stadium.

Edinburgh have named a settled side ahead of the derby showdown which kicks off at the conclusion of all six BT Cup Finals (7.45pm), with a single supporters’ ticket covering the full day that celebrates the end of the regular Scottish rugby season, from regional domestic to full-time professional.

The capital club will host Guinness PRO14 Conference A winners Glasgow in a hotly contested 1872 Cup decider, which not only presents the home side with an opportunity to lift the 1872 Cup for the third time in four years, but to qualify for the PRO14 Final Series for the first time ever and secure a return to the Champions Cup next season.

The return of Fijian number eight Bill Mata is the only alteration to the side that defeated Scarlets 52-14 a fortnight ago.

Head Coach Richard Cockerill has called on his side to raise their game further still for the occasion.

“We know how well we can play,” said the Head Coach.

“We know that we can beat Glasgow - we were the first team to beat them this year but if we get it wrong they can beat us easily because they’ve got enough fire power.“

An unchanged back-three sees Blair Kinghorn return to full fitness and named at full-back. Duhan van der Merwe – who notched a brace of tries in the win over Scarlets two-weeks ago – and Dougie Fife continue on the wings.

In the midfield, James Johnstone keeps his place at outside centre and is partnered by Chris Dean. Jaco van der Walt and Sam Hidalgo-Clyne continue their half-back partnership.

Hooker Stuart McInally is named as captain and will pack down alongside Simon Berghan and Samoan international Jordan Lay in the front-row. Scotland duo Grant Gilchrist and Ben Toolis keep their spot in the second-row.

Mata is named at number eight, with Magnus Bradbury and Jamie Ritchie making up the remainder of a strong back-row.

For Glasgow, Canadian cap DTH van der Merwe will make his 100th Glasgow Warriors appearance.

The club’s all-time top try scorer rejoined the Warriors from Newcastle Falcons this season and scored twice on his comeback match against Zebre at Scotstoun.

He joins Tommy Seymour and Stuart Hogg, both of whom are already club centurions, in the back-three.

Sam Johnson and Nick Grigg both return to the starting XV in midfield, outside of Finn Russell.

George Horne starts at scrum-half having shone for Scotland 7s at the Commonwealth Games and on the HSBC World Rugby 7s series earlier this month.

Ryan Wilson captains the side at number 8 having recovered from injury, joining Matt Fagerson and Callum Gibbins in the back-row.

Jonny Gray is also fit to play, partnering Tim Swinson in the second row. They pack down behind Alex Allan, Fraser Brown and Zander Fagerson.

Glasgow can also call upon a depth of experience from the bench. Rob Harley, Chris Fusaro, Henry Pyrgos and Peter Horne boasting over 600 Warriors appearances between them.

Lee Jones completes the 23 having also been involved with Scotland 7s in Hong Kong and on the Gold Coast.

Glasgow Warriors Head Coach Dave Rennie said: “We’re highly motivated. There’s a historic cup up for grabs and we want to put in a good performance for the thousands of Warriors fans who will be travelling along the M8 to support us.

“We’re the final game on a great day of rugby and hopefully we’re one of many teams representing the West of Scotland to win on Silver Saturday.”

Edinburgh Rugby team: 15. Blair Kinghorn; 14. Dougie Fife, 13. James Johnstone, 12. Chris Dean, 11. Duhan van der Merwe; 10. Jaco van der Walt; 9. Sam Hidalgo-Clyne; 1. Jordan Lay, 2. Stuart McInally CAPTAIN, 3. Simon Berghan, 4. Ben Toolis, 5. Grant Gilchrist, 6. Magnus Bradbury, 7. Jamie Ritchie, 8. Bill Mata. Replacements: 16. Neil Cochrane, 17. Allan Dell, 18. WP Nel, 19. Lewis Carmichael, 20. Cornell du Preez, 21. Nathan Fowles, 22. Duncan Weir, 23. Mark Bennett.

Glasgow Warriors team: 15. Stuart Hogg; 14. Tommy Seymour, 13. Nick Grigg, 12. Sam Johnson, 11. DTH van der Merwe; 10. Finn Russell, 9. George Horne; 1. Alex Allan, 2. Fraser Brown, 3. Zander Fagerson, 4. Tim Swinson, 5. Jonny Gray, 6. Matt Fagerson, 7. Callum Gibbins, 8. Ryan Wilson CAPTAIN. Replacements: 16. George Turner, 17. Jamie Bhatti, 18. Siua Halanukonuka, 19. Rob Harley, 20. Chris Fusaro, 21. Henry Pyrgos, 22. Peter Horne, 23. Lee Jones.

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners

Peter Vardy logo