Three changes for Wales U20 Test


Three changes for Wales U20 Test

Centre Cameron Anderson (Wasps) and back-row Kwagga Van Niekirk (Lions) are both named in the starting XV for Friday night’s U20 Six Nations match against Wales at Edinburgh’s Meggetland Sports Complex (kick-off 7.30pm).

The returning exiles – who both missed last month’s defeat to France through respective injury and unavailability - are two of three changes to the starting line-up as Robbie McCallum (Complutense Cisneros) is selected at inside centre in the place of the injured Grant Hughes.

Tickets for the game – which isn’t being broadcast on TV or live streamed, but can be followed via our social channels: @Scotlandteam - are available at, with prices increasing on match day.

Head Coach Carl Hogg, said: “I think there are aspects of our game that are really pleasing. When we get ball in hand, we are creating opportunities. We look very sharp and very clinical, which is really pleasing.

“The key challenge for us, as we’ve discussed all week, is making sure we perform consistently under pressure. And that’s the key for a full 80-minute performance.

“There have been huge improvements made over the first three games, but international rugby is about performing under pressure, so we’re looking forward to continuing our development this Friday night against Wales.”

An unchanged back-three sees Matt Davidson continue at fullback, with Heriot’s wing pairing Jack Blain – twice a try-scorer in the round three encounter against France – and Rory McMichael named on the wings.

McCallum – who finished off an impressive length of the field score in Pau two weeks ago – is partnered by Anderson in midfield, who returns from the shoulder injury sustained against Ireland in round two.

At half-back, stand-off Ross Thompson (Glasgow Hawks) – who has notched up 14 points so far this tournament – once again links-up with Currie Chieftain’s scrum-half, Roan Frostwick.

Tennent’s Premiership prop pairing Murphy Walker (Stirling County) and Euan McLaren (Ayr) continue in the front-row alongside Sale Sharks’ Ewan Ashman, with the hooker making his third start of the 2019 campaign.

Racing 92 lock Ewan Johnson is once again partnered by Cameron Henderon (Stirling County) in the second-row, while the inclusion of Van Niekirk at No.8 is the only alteration to an otherwise unchanged back-row, where as captain Connor Boyle (Watsonians) is selected alongside Heriot’s Charlie Jupp.

Scotland U20 team to face Wales U20 at Meggetland in the U20 Six Nations on Friday 8 March (kick-off 7.30pm)

15. Matt Davidson (London Scottish)

14. Rory McMichael (Heriot’s)*

13. Cameron Anderson (Wasps)

12. Robbie McCallum (Complutense Cisneros)

11. Jack Blain (Heriot’s)*

10. Ross Thompson (Glasgow Hawks)* VICE-CAPTAIN

9. Roan Frostwick (Currie Chieftains)*

1. Murphy Walker (Stirling County)*

2. Ewan Ashman (Sale Sharks)

3. Euan McLaren (Ayr)*

4. Ewan Johnson (Racing 92)

5. Cameron Henderson (Stirling County)*

6. Charlie Jupp (Heriot’s)*

7. Connor Boyle (Watsonians)* CAPTAIN

8. Kwagga van Niekerk (Lions)


16. Angus Fraser (Glasgow Hawks)*

17. Andrew Nimmo (Glasgow Hawks)*

18. Will Hurd (Cardiff Metropolitan University)

19. Ross Bundy (Stirling County)

20. Jack Mann (Edinburgh Accies)*

21. Murray Scott (Watsonians);

22. Nathan Chamberlain (Bristol Bears)

23. Ollie Smith (Ayr)*

*Fosroc Scottish Rugby Academy supported player

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners