U20 extended Six Nations squad assemble ahead of Championship


U20 extended Six Nations squad assemble ahead of Championship

Scotland U20 Head Coach Sean Lineen has selected a 41-man extended Six Nations training squad to assemble for two camps this month at Oriam.

The group will work towards final selection for the rescheduled U20 Six Nations Championship due to start on Saturday 19 June, with the venue and fixtures to be confirmed.

There are 25 Scottish Rugby FOSROC Academy players selected for this camp which will provide a first opportunity to impress for several of the contracted players within the Academy who are aligned to either Edinburgh Rugby or Glasgow Warriors. The group of 11 players were omitted from the last camp in December 2020 to protect the integrity of their clubs COVID-19 security bubble.

Scotland 7s Head Coach Ciaran Beattie will have a chance to get to know the players as he joins the squad as assistant coach for the first time. He replaces Pete Murchie in the coaching group after his appointment to Glasgow Warriors earlier this year.

Beattie will join Shade Munro and FOSROC Super6 Head Coach Rob Chrystie (Southern Knights) who complete the coaching set up, alongside Lineen, for this year’s Six Nations Championship.

Scotland U20 Head Coach, Sean Lineen said: “Although the players have been working hard on their own strength and conditioning, these camps will provide an important opportunity for us to work on rugby team skills with the players in an organised setting which will be valuable as they work towards the Six Nations Championship at the end of June.

“It’s great to have the Contracted Academy players available to us for these camps, they will bring a wealth of knowledge to the playing group from the professional team environment. Two of those players Max Williamson and Alex Samuel were invited to train with the Scotland national team over the Guinness Six Nations, those players have experienced the next step up and the level of intensity that we will expect them to bring to these camps.”

Scott Clelland (Ayrshire Bulls)
Jamie Drummond* (Ayrshire Bulls)
Patrick Harrison* (Southern Knights / Edinburgh Rugby)
Duncan Hood*(Heriots Blues)
Gregor Scougall* (Currie Chieftains)
Michael Jones* (Boroughmuir Bears)
Corey Bowker (Leeds Beckett University)
George Ratcliffe (Stirling Wolves)
George Breese* (Stirling Wolves)
Cole Lamberton* (Watsonians Rugby / Edinburgh Rugby)
Jamie Campbell* (Boroughmuir Bears)
Alex Samuel* (Stirling County / Glasgow Warriors)
Max Williamson* (Stirling County / Glasgow Warriors)
Hamish Ferguson (Currie Chieftains)
Euan Ferrie (Glasgow Hawks)
Harri Morris (Southern Knights)
Rhys Tait (Southern Knights)
Ollie Leatherbarrow (Exeter University)
Rory Jackson* (Ayrshire Bulls / Glasgow Warriors)
Jack Duncan* (Stirling Wolves)
Archie Smeaton (Cambridge University)
Rudi Brown* (Melrose Rugby)

Ethan McVicker (Melrose Rugby)
Cameron Lessels (Currie Chieftains)
Murray Redpath (Newcastle University)
Cameron Scott* (Southern Knights / Edinburgh Rugby)
Euan Cunningham* (Stirling County / Glasgow Warriors)
Christian Townsend* (Ayrshire Bulls)
Tom Lanni (Ayrshire Bulls)
Thomas Glendinning* (Glasgow Hawks)
Scott King* (Heriots Rugby / Edinburgh Rugby)
Connor de Bruyn* (Boroughmuir Bears / Glasgow Warriors)
Elliot Gourlay (Sale Sharks)
Keiran Clark* (Southern Knights)
Finlay Callaghan* (Ayrshire Bulls / Glasgow Warriors)
Ryan Daley * (Currie Chieftains)
Ollie Melville* (Boroughmuir Bears / Glasgow Warriors)
Alex Clayton (Bath University)
Ross McKnight* (Stirling County)
Adam Scott* (GHA)
Sean Carden (Glasgow University)

*FOSROC Academy Supported Player.
Listed clubs are for the 2021 season.

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners

Peter Vardy logo