U20 | Scotland squad named for World Championship

U20 | Scotland squad named for World Championship

Scotland U20 Head Coach Bryan Redpath has today named his squad for the forthcoming World Rugby U20 Championship in France (30 May – 17 June).

The 28-man squad, which consists of 16 forwards and 12 backs, includes 18 players who’ve progressed through the BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy, while only eight players were not involved in the U20 Six Nations campaign earlier this year.

Prop Ross Dunbar (Bouroughmuir) and centre pairing Cammy Hutchison (Currie) and Patrick Anderson (Melrose) – all of whom have previously been selected at U20 level – are named in the squad after missing out on the recent U20 Six Nations Championship.

Stepping up to U20-level for the first time are prop Euan McLaren (Ayr), hooker Finlay Scott (Jed-Forest), second-row Charlie Jupp (Heriot’s) and back-row James Miller (Watsonains).

Also joining the squad is prop Sam Grahamslaw (Leicester Tigers) - a recent inclusion in a Scotland U20 development side - having been identified through the Scottish Qualified (SQ) programme.

Scotland U20 Head Coach, Bryan Redpath, said: “We’ve chosen a versatile and combative squad, who’ve really grown together after their experiences in the recent Six Nations campaign.

We still have a lot of work to do as we prepare to face Italy at the end of the month but I have every confidence that this group of players will be prepared for what is building up to be a really exciting tournament.

“We’re really eager to get started in a few weeks-time and I’m looking forward to playing a role in the development of this strong squad."

Scotland U20 Pool fixtures in the World Rugby U20 Championship

Wednesday 30 May: Scotland U20 v Italy U20; Stade de la Méditerranée, Béziers (kick-off 6.30pm local time)

Sunday 3 June: Scotland U20 v Argentina U20; Stade Aimé Giral, Perpignan (kick-off 2pm local time)

Thursday 7 June: Scotland U20 v England U20; Stade de la Méditerranée, Béziers (kick-off 9pm local time)

Scotland Squad to compete in the 2018 World Rugby U20 Championship in France (30 May – 17 June)


Sam Grahamslaw (Leicester Tigers)

Ross Dunbar (Boroughmuir)*

Finlay Richardson (Edinburgh Accies)

Murphy Walker (Strathallan School)*

Euan McLaren (Ayr)**

Robbie Smith (Ayr)**

Finlay Scott (Jed-Forest)*

Ewan Johnson (Racing Metro 92)

Jamie Hodgson (Watsonians)*

Charlie Jupp (Heriot’s)*

Marshall Sykes (St Joseph's College)

Martin Hughes (Heriot’s)*

Rory Darge (Melrose)*

Guy Graham (Newcastle Falcons)

Devante Onojaife (Northampton Saints)

James Miller (Watsonians)*


Charlie Chapman (Gloucester)

Kaleem Barreto (Marr)**

Ross Thompson (Glasgow Hawks)*

Callum McLelland (Edinburgh Rugby)

Stafford McDowall (Ayr)**

Logan Trotter (Stirling County)*

Cammy Hutchison (Currie)**

Fraser Strachan (Northampton Saints)

Kyle Rowe (Glasgow Hawks)

Patrick Anderson (Melrose)*

Sam Yawayawa (Glasgow Hawks)**

Paddy Dewhirst (Ayr)*

*BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy supported players 2017/18

**BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy Stage 3 players 2017/18

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners