Women's Cup draw announced

Women's Cup draw announced

The draws for the 2020 Sarah Beaney Cup, Women’s National Plate and the Women’s National Bowl fixtures have been announced.

All cup competitions will begin within the next few weeks with the finals taking place at BT Murrayfield on Saturday 25 April as part of Silver Saturday.

Watsonians players celebrate in the 2019 Sarah Beaney Cup final 

Sarah Beaney Cup 

The top tier of the cup competition will include all six Tennent’s Premiership clubs as well as the top four clubs from the recent National 1 league season.

Champions and recently crowned league winners Watsonians will host Garioch RFC in their opening tie in Pool A, where they will be joined by Howe of Fife, Cartha Queens Park and Stirling County.

In Pool B, last year’s finalists Hillhead Jordanhill will play 2019 Women’s National Plate Champions Stewartry RFC in their first pool match. Other teams in Pool B are recent semi-finalists Heriot’s Blues and Ayr RFC, with Corstorphine completing the section.

The bottom side from each pool will be eliminated from the competition, with the remaining teams ranked from first to fourth to determine the make-up of the knockout phase.

Pool stages will take place from Sunday 26 January with the quarter-finals scheduled for Sunday 22 March.

Stewartry's Jenny Yates breaks past the Glasgow defence in the Women’s National Plate final

Women's National Plate 

The second tier of competition features two pools and will also follow the round robin format followed by knockouts beginning on Sunday 22 March.

In Pool A, 2019 finalists Glasgow Uni will be joined by Inverness Craig Dunain, Broughton, Shetland and Greenock Wanderers.

The first week of fixtures will see 2019 National Bowl winners Greenock Wanderers host Broughton, while Glasgow University travel to Inverness.

In Pool B, Annan will host West of Scotland in week one as Kirkcaldy welcome Kelso. Oban Lorne get their campaign underway the following week.

Greenock Wanderers celebrating at full time in the 2019 Women's National Bowl final

 Women’s National Bowl 

The final tier of cup competition consists of four pools of four teams. They will play in a round robin that kicks off on Sunday 2 February, followed by a knockout stage from March 22 where top ranked sides will face runners-up from another pool.

Three new development teams are making their debut in the cup competition. Strathmore, Midlands Development and Bishopton have impressed in their commitment, and playing ability in the Women’s Development Series. They have all developed their teams successfully over the last season with a large playing pool, committed volunteers and dedicated coaches.

Pool A

Midlands Development
Orkney Dragons
Aberdeenshire Quines

Pool B

Grangemouth Stags

Pool C


Pool D

Ardrossan Academicals

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners