Edinburgh Academy


Edinburgh Academy

​The capital city’s top young talent are set to benefit from a new £2.5million extension at Edinburgh Napier University’s Sighthill campus, host and partner of the Fosroc Scottish Rugby Academy in Edinburgh.

Work began in the winter of 2015 on a new two-storey sports centre extension that will host a multi-use strength and conditioning gym, rehabilitation space and studio research facility.

As well as providing the academy players with a fully-equipped, state-of-the-art gym and rehab spaces – including a 30 metre running track on the ground floor – a second-level studio facility will provide an area where students and academic staff can undertake research projects.

The University already boasts one of the UK’s leading biomechanic labs, which includes an exercise physiology lab, and features an environment chamber that simulates altitude, humidity, and hot and cold conditions.

Stage three (full-time) players:

Callum Atkinson (Boroughmuir), Hamish Bain (Stade Nicois), Jack Blain (Heriot's), Connor Boyle (Watsonians), Duncan Ferguson (Watsonians), Shaun Gunn (Edinburgh Accies), Rufus McLean (Watsonians), Ross Dunbar (Boroughmuir), Dan Winning (Boroughmuir).

Academy-supported players:

Jamie Dobie (Merchiston Castle School), Lisa Thompson (Darlington), Dan Gamble (Merchiston Castle School), Sula Callender (Corstorphine Cougars), George Goodenough (Boroughmuir), Jamie Hodgson (Watsonians), Charlie Jupp (Heriot's), Adam Hall (Currie Chieftains), Sarah Law (Edinburgh University), Rachel Law (Edinburgh University), Matthew Currie (Merchiston castle School), Cameron Scott (George Watsons College/Boroughmuir), Struan Whittaker (Edinbugrh Accies), Rory Jackson (Edinbugrh Accies), Rory McMichael (Heriot's), Jack Mann (Edinbugrh Accies), Scott King (Heriot's), Nicola Howat (Edinburgh University).


Edinburgh Napier University, Sighthill Campus


Edinburgh Napier University, Edinburgh City Council (Edinburgh Leisure)

Coaches and staff:

Graeme Beveridge, Jared Deacon, Gavin Dempsey, Alasdair Dickinson, Bryan Easson, Luke Magee, Colin Nash.

Newsletter signup

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.

sign up

Principal Partners