Scottish Futures

About the Programmes

Launched in 2018, Scottish Futures U18 is a performance player development programme with a focus on rugby skills, game understanding and behaviours needed to succeed in a high-performance rugby environment.

Scottish Futures U20 gives players the opportunity to test their skills, game understanding and behaviours in a competitive environment.

2019/2020 Programme

The players and coaches involved in the Scottish Futures U18 and U20 programme for the upcoming season are detailed below.

  • U18 Scottish Futures

    Head Coach: Rudi Urbach (Set Piece, Forwards Specialist and Breakdown)
    Assistant Coach: Louise Dalgliesh (Attack)
    Assistant Coach: Duncan Harrison (Defence)

    2019/2020 Programme
    Abbe Bruce (Hillhead Jordanhill)
    Abbie Ledwidge (Stirling County RFC)
    April McKenzie (Highland RFC)
    Carla Mcdonald (Hillhead Jordanhill)
    Charlotte Boan (East Kilbride RFC)
    Charlotte Gilmour (Strathallan HS)
    Cieron Bell (Ayr RFC)
    Ciorstaidh Ainsworth (Stirling County RFC)
    Eilidh MacGilvray (Highland RFC)
    Ellee Mills (Stirling County RFC)
    Ellie Henderson (Annan RFC)
    Emelia Knights (Biggar RFC)
    Emma Inglis Casey (Cartha QP RFC)
    Freya Walker (Stirling County RFC)
    Gerry Kimm (Biggar RFC)
    Hannah Ramsay (Livingston RFC)
    Holly McIntyre (Ayr RFC)
    Jess Fyfe (Auchterarder)
    Katie McPherson (Biggar RFC)
    Kaylee Fraser (Biggar RFC)
    Lexie Steel (Annan RFC)
    Molly Poolman (Howe Of Fife)
    Morgan Nellies (Caithness RFC)
    Natasha Logan (Stirling County RFC)
    Neve Henderson (Stirling County RFC)
    Orla Protctor (Stirling County RFC)
    Rachel Philipps (Biggar RFC/Edinburgh University)
    Rhea Clarke (Stirling County RFC)
    Roma Fraser (Auchterarder)
    Rosa Cobban (Cartha QP RFC)
    Shannon Pasotti (Caithness RFC/Orkney RFC)
    Siobhann McGinley (Hillhead Jordanhill)

  • U20 Scottish Futures

    Head Coach: Chris Reid (Attack)
    Assistant Coach: Rory McKay (Set Piece, Forwards Specialist and Breakdown)
    Assistant Coach: Tyrone Holmes (Defence)

    2019/2020 Programme
    Aimee Johnston (Hillhead Jordanhill)
    Anne Young (Edinburgh University)
    Ciara McCulloch (Edinburgh University)
    Elliann Clarke (Edinburgh University)
    Emily Flavell (Edinburgh University)
    Eva Donaldson (Edinburgh University)
    Eve Thomson (Hillhead Jordanhill)
    Evie Gallagher (Edinburgh University)
    Evie Wills (Stirling County)
    Grace Stocks (Loughborough Town)
    Katie McLaren (Stirling County)
    Lily Glendinning (Annan)
    Megan Lloyd (Stirling County)
    Meryl Smith (Edinburgh University)
    Samantha Callaghan (Cartha Queens Park)
    Samantha Djoh (Cartha Queens Park)
    Sarah Denholm (Edinburgh University)
    Sarah McPherson (Cartha Queens Park)
    Shona Campbell (Montrose RC)

Is Scottish Futures for you?

The programme is open for female players aged between 17-19 years old. Rugby experience is not essential, but the potential to learn fast and develop is what we’re looking for. Specifically, we want athletes who can demonstrate more than one of these attributes:

Speed & agility


Hand-eye coordination

High energy and work rate

Strong tackler

Catch and pass skills

Game awareness & rugby knowledge

Positive attitude


Eligibility – 2019/20 season

U18 - Girls born on or between 1 Jan 2002– 31 Dec 2003 are eligible for nomination to the Scottish Futures U18 programme

U20 - Women born on or between 1 Jan 2000 – 31 Dec 2001 are eligible for nomination to the Scottish Futures U20 programme


Nominations are now closed for the August 2019 intake of players, keep an eye on this page and Scottish Rugby's social media channels for further information about the programme.

Scottish Rugby Age Grade Consent Form

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners