U18 Junior 1872 Cup Preview

U18 Junior 1872 Cup Preview

Representative age-grade rugby will return to The Greenyards this Sunday (27 February) for the U18 Junior 1872 Cup.

Following two weekends of U17 and U18 FOSROC Scottish Rugby Regional Championship action, which concluded in Melrose last Sunday, players will be selected to represent either Edinburgh Rugby or Glasgow Warriors U18 sides.


Players who hail from Edinburgh and Borders and East Lothian academy areas will be selected to represent Edinburgh Rugby whilst those from the Caledonia and Glasgow and the West areas will represent Glasgow Warriors.

Selected players will then get another opportunity to represent their respective pro-teams when they travel to Wales to face their Celts and Druids teams next weekend.

Much like the U20 Junior 1872 fixture that was held at Scotstoun in November, these two fixtures will act as a selection and identification matches for Scotland U18 camps before the national representative team take part in a Six Nations festival in the spring.

Spectators are welcome to the U18 Junior 1872 Cup in Melrose, (kick-off 2.30pm) entry is free but we request that spectators sign up via the link HERE.

Pictured are the Edinburgh Rugby U18 team lifting the U18 Junior 1872 Cup when it was last played for at West of Scotland Rugby Club on Saturday 12 October 2019. Many of these players are now involved with Scotland U20.

Edinburgh U18: 15. Jack Brown (George Watsons College), 14. Finn Douglas (Melrose Rugby), 13. Jamie Littlefield (George Watsons), 12. Kerr Johnstone (Gala Rugby), 11. Nick Alder (Boroughmuir RFC), 10. Luke Townsend (Earlston High School/Melrose Rugby), 9. Conor McAlpine (George Watsons College); 1. Ross Brown (Loretto School), 2. Marcus Brogan (Hawick Youth), 3. Robbie Deans (Merchiston School), 4. Ben Weir (Melrose Rugby), 5. Euan McVie (BATS Rugby), 6. Liam McConnell (Boroughmuir RFC), 7. Munroe Job (Selkirk High School/Rugby), 8. Gregor Thomson (Stewarts Melville College).
Replacements: 16. Jerry Blyth-Lafferty (Boroughmuir RFC), 17. Aaron Steel (Livingston RFC), 18. Robbie Robinson (Earlston High School/Melrose Rugby), 19. Hamish Reynolds (Berwickshire High School/Duns RFC), 20. Luke Henderson (Ross High), 21. Mark McKay (Boroughmuir RFC), 22. Hector Paterson (Jed Thistle), 23. Rory Cockburn (George Watsons College), 24. Patrick Cannon (Peebles High School/Peebles RFC), 25. Finlay Wheelans (Selkirk RFC).

Coaches: Chris Laidlaw and Robert Grigg

Glasgow U18: 15. Euan Muirhead (Dumfries Saints), 14. Logan Jarvie (Stirling County), 13. Alex Thom (Strathallan), 12. Aminio Bogidrau (Queen Victoria School), 11. Amena Caqusau (Queen Victoria School), 10. Charlie Greaves (West of Scotland), 9. Harrison Lang (Biggar); 1. Eben Cairns (Ardrossan Academicals), 2. Struan Reekie (Strathallan), 3.Bartek Brylak (St Leonard’s/Madras), 4. Ruaridh Hart (The Glasgow Academy) CAPTAIN, 5. Benjamin Nehring (Mackie RFC), 6. Theo McKenna (St Aloysius College), 7. Sam Wallace (Dollar), 8. Jonny Morris (Strathallan).
Replacements: 16. Aaron Burgess (Kelvinside Academy), 17. Ewan McDonald (Morrisons Academy), 18. Ewan Brannan (Kelvinside Academy), 19. Archie Clarke (St Leonard’s / Madras), 20. Ben Skinner (St Columbas), 21. Fraser Gallagher (Dollar), 22. Johnny Ventesi (St Aloysius College), 23. Fergus Watson (Biggar), 24. Finn Carden (West of Scotland), 25. Kerr Yule (West of Scotland).

Head Coach: Euan Clark
Assistant Coaches: Gary Strain

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners

Peter Vardy logo