Record number of hubs for 2020 Tartan Touch

Record number of hubs for 2020 Tartan Touch

​Scottish Rugby has announced the clubs which will be Tartan Touch hubs for the 2020 season, with a record number of successful applicants being chosen.

The popular form of non-contact rugby will see another 18 newly-established hubs added to the programme, which now has over 60 clubs signed up for the season, which runs from May to July.

Last year saw over 4,000 players take part in the modified version of the game which can enable clubs to help develop various benefits, such as an income revenue stream and new playing members. Since 2018 the number of hubs in clubs across Scotland has doubled from 30-60.

Caitlin Gould, Club Captain at Lismore, commented that Tartan Touch has played a huge part in developing the culture at the club: “I can't imagine my summers without it now! It is a wonderful vehicle for us to bring together members from across the club, as well as their family and friends, and of course those in our local community.

“One of the most important aspects about Tartan Touch for us is that it's a such an inclusive format as it puts everyone - regardless of age, gender or ability - on a level playing field. Tartan Touch allows for lots of meaningful conversations to take place between the club and the wider community, showing that we are more than just a rugby club and that there are many ways to get involved.

“It's also helped us to forge stronger connections between our youth and senior players too. And, if we end up converting participants into players, then that's simply a bonus.”

The regional spread of hubs is also now greater than ever before with all five Scottish Rugby Regions represented. New hubs include North Berwick, Edinburgh BATS, Kilmarnock, Newton Stewart and Islay.

Coach Bruce Strachan at Deeside added: “As one of the few clubs who have been in the initiative from the start, this will be Deeside Rugby`s fourth adventure with Tartan Touch 2020.

“The benefits of being involved in Tartan Touch are all about the Community that surrounds us, Tartan Touch provides an opportunity for so many people to come along and have some fun, where we have between 80-120 participants per session.

“The vast majority of people come along in family, friends, school and work groups, we have had many generations of the same family playing and there is something very special about that.

“Tartan Touch sits so well with the core values of Scottish Rugby, with genuine community engagement, enjoyment by the bucket load and a sense of achievement that very few sports can offer.

For more information please visit or follow @Tartan_Touch on Twitter.

Tartan Touch Hubs 2020

Caledonian Midlands: Blairgowrie*, Carnoustie HSFP, Crieff & Strathearn*, Dundee High Rugby, Kinross, Panmure, Perthshire Rugby, Strathmore, Dunfermline, Falkirk*, McLaren*, Stirling County, Kirkcaldy, Howe of Fife, Strathendrick

Caledonian North: Banff*, Deeside Rugby, Ellon*, Garioch, Mackie Academy FP*, SRFC, Caithness, Moray, Ross Sutherland*, Stornoway

East Region: Gala, Jed Thistle, Selkirk, Hawick*, Stewart's Melville*, Currie Chieftains, Dalkeith, Lismore, Penicuik, Portobello FP, Berwick, Dunbar, Haddington, North Berwick*, Preston Lodge, Edinburgh BATs*, Edinburgh Northern*, Forrester*, Leith, Linlithgow

Glasgow North: Biggar, Cambuslang*, Cartha Queens Park, East Kilbride, GHA, Hamilton Bulls, Hillhead/Jordanhill, Strathaven, Whitecraigs, Islay*, Oban Lorne, Waysiders Drumpellier

Glasgow South: Garnock*, Greenock Wanderers, Kilmarnock*, Paisley, Annan, Newton Stewart*

*Denotes new Tartan Touch hub

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners